Brief History of the Committee

The WFNS Education and Training Committee made a historical change in its philosophy in 1991, when Professor Armando Basso organized, in Buenos Aires, a memorable event that came to be a reference for all the future WFNS Courses. After him, Professor James Ausman became the Chairman of the Federation's Education and Training Committee and then started to organize Courses in several cities around the world, following the standards set by the one earlier held by Basso. Later on, Professor Jacques Brotchi was elected the new Chairman, followed by Maurice Choux and Atos de Sousa. During all these years, the Committee has organized from four to eight WFNS Courses each year, in every continent and many different locations. The Faculty of the Committee is composed of about fifty neurosurgeons, experts in all the fields of neurosurgery and from a varied number of countries.

Chairmen of the WFNS Education and Training Committee

- James Ausman, from 1993 to 1997;

- Jacques Brotchi, from 1997 to 2001;

- Maurice Choux, from 2001 to 2005;

- Atos A. de Sousa, from 2005 to 2009;

- Yoko Kato, since Sept. 2009